Public Works Department

Department of Public WorksLafayette Consolidated Government’s Public Works Department encompasses 295 employees who are responsible for a wealth of progress in our community.

The Department’s several divisions have put these monies to work in projects that benefit the Parish of Lafayette. These divisions are:

Director's Office

Operations and Maintenance Division
Terry Cordick, Associate Director

Development and Environmental Divisions


Traffic & Transportation


To provide for the Engineering, Construction and Maintenance of Buildings, Streets, Bridges and Drainage Systems and Fleet Maintenance for Vehicles and Equipment, as well as providing for a quality infrastructure and environment in an efficient and cost-effective manner.